Participation to theInternational Scientific Committee

ICOMOS has established the ISC (International Scientific Committee) to deal with problematic of Cultural Heritage Protection, according to all the various fields of expertise. Currently, the ISC is composed by 27 commissions. The main activities of the ISC commissions are listed as follow: research for the development of technical and theoretical guidelines for the safeguard of Cultural Properties, proposal for new rules and charters proposals, commitment for the professional growth of the technicians and specialists, development of better training methods for experts of Cultural Heritage protection, publication of materials and research records, the enhancement of international exchange of scientific knowledge, and the mutual cooperation between the commissions of different National ISCs, to solve common problems. Every ISC Commission, starts its own different projects and carries them out independently. The outcomes and results of these activities are presented in the form of annual reports, to the Executive Commission of the International ICOMO, which reviews them.

The managing lines of the ISC, the establishment procedures, the membership and other directives are indicated in the Eger-Xi’an Principles for The International [Scientific] Committees of ICOMOS, which were adopted in 2005 at the Xi’an International ICOMOS Conference. According to the principles, every ISC committee is composed by an Expert Member, an Associate Member, a Non-ICOMOS Member, an Institutional Member, a Honorary Member, and in every ISC the voting right is granted to those experts (one for each country) elected or officially recommended by the countries National Committees.
Three coordinators, elected as representatives of the Scientific Council, which is formed by the chairmen of all the ISCs, do also participate to the Executive Central Commission. Inside the Japan ICOMOS National Assembly, throughout other members that take part to the ISC and expert members publicly recommended by the National Council, we inform the public with actions and decisions taken by the ISC, with the publication of a Scientific Information Magazine.

  • Analysis and Restoration of Structures of Architectural Heritage -ISCARSAH
    (Toshikazu HANAZATO, Yoshinori IWASAKI, Isao SAKAMOTO, Hidekazu NISHIZAWA)

  • Archaeological Heritage Management -ICAHM
    (Katsuyuki OKAMURA, Masatoshi KISHIMOTO, Akira ONO, Yumiko NAKANISHI)

  • Cultural Landscapes ICOMOS-IFLA -ISCCL
    (Wataru ONO, Mikiko ISHIKAWA, Makoto MOTONAKA)

  • Cultural Routes -CIIC
    (Kunie SUGIO, Wataru ONO)

  • Cultural Tourism -ICTC
    (Yoshifumi MUNETA, Namiko YAMAUCHI)

  • Earthen Architectural Heritage -ISCEAH
    (Yasuyoshi OKADA, Yasuhiro YAMASHITA)

  • Fortification and Military Heritage -IcoFort(Riichi MIYAKE)

  • Heritage Documentation -CIPA(Yasuhisa KONDO)

  • Historic Towns and Villages -CIVVIH
    (Yuichi FUKUKAWA, Yuga KARIYA)

  • Interpretation and Presentation of Cultural Heritage Sites -ICIP(Rieko KADOBAYASHI)

  • Intangible Cultural Heritage -ICICH
    (Misako ONUKI, Nobuko INABA, Yumi Isabelle NAITO-AKIEDA)

  • Legal, Administrative and Financial Issues -ICLAFI
    (Toshiyuki KONO, Ren YATSUNAMI)

  • Risk Preparedness -ICORP
    (Kanefusa MASUDA, Takeyuki OKUBO)

  • Rock Art -CAR
    (Masaru OGAWA, Jannu IGARASHI)

  • Stone -ISCS(Takeshi ISHIZAKI, Tadateru NISHIURA)

  • Theory and Philosophy of Conservation and Restoration -TheoPhilos
    (Yumi Isabelle NAITO-AKIEDA, Yukio NISHIMURA, Yukio NISHIMURA, Makoto AKASAKA)

  • International Training Committee -CIF
    (Nobuko INABA, Ayako FUKUSHIMA)

  • Underwater Cultural Heritage -ICUCH
    (Akifumi IWABUCHI, Yoshifumi IKEDA, Jun KIMURA)

  • Vernacular Architecture -CIAV
    (Satoshi ONO, Yukimasa YAMADA)

  • Wood -IIWC
    (Toshikazu TSUCHIMOTO, Yasuhiro WATANABE)

  • 20th Century Heritage -ISC20C
    (Saikaku TOYOKAWA, Yoshiyuki YAMANA, Toru AJISAKA, Yukio TAHARA)

  • Industry Heritage -ISCIH (Toshitaka MATSUURA)

In the following ISC list, inside brackets, are the names of the committee members who had participated to the works of the executive offices of the ICOMOS Japan national committee until now (as in March 2018). From now on, the conditions/possibilities for the participation requirements might change. To all organizations interested in ISC please contact our executive office.

  • Economics of Conservation -ISEC

  • Energy and Sustainability -ISCES

  • Mural (Wall) Paintings -ISCMP

  • Places of Religion and Ritual -PRERICO

  • International Polar Heritage Committee -IPHC

  • Shared Built Heritage -ISCSBH

  • Stained Glass -ISCV

© ICOMOS Japan, all rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Sitemap